Curiouser and curiouser

It’s been a fairly busy week for me – for reasons unrelated to video games – but which gave me plenty of opportunity to play some handheld games, so this is more of a “What I’m Playing” post.

Super Mario 3D Land (3DS)

This game is such great value: I’m so very close to 100% now.  The levels are crafted well, striking the right balance of challenge and fun.

Pokemon White (DS)

I saw Pokemon the Movie: White – Victini and Zekrom, so I booted my Pokemon White back up to have another look. I had it in my 3DS and picked up 14 Street Pass hits, which was excellent, but 0 Pokemon Passes, which was a little disappointing. Now that I’m paying attention to the world of Pokemon again, I’ve acquired Mewtwo and Arceus through the current events.

Metal Gear Solid 3D Demo (3DS)

MGS3D_Demo

The Resident Evil demo went a long way to selling me on the game. I’m already sold on MGS3, so it was with excitement that I downloaded this demo. At first I was a little concerned with the default control scheme – movement, actions seemed forced and deliberate, but then I reasoned that was very much in the spirit of a Kojima game and in a way the increased freedom that the Circle Pad Pro offers is reminiscent of the changes added in Subsistence (So, yes, that means the demo supports the Circle Pad). If you don’t own a Circle Pad and are thinking of getting MGS3, then the demo offers a taste of what the game will feel like. If you do own the Circle Pad, then it’s just teasing.

Also Now Playing: Star Wars: TOR (PC), Mario Kart 7 (3DS)

I Might Be Interested In

I’ve downloaded the Mass Effect 3 demo, although I’m not interested in the game, since a friend had asked I help him trial the multiplayer portion. This is yet to transpire, so the demo just sits there. PS Vita is released this week. I want one, a little bit, but I have more than enough portable gaming to keep me occupied as it is, so my interest is really as a curiosity piece. Also out this week is The Last Story for Wii. I remember watching a Japanese gamer cut, tear and burn his copy of the game in his distaste, but otherwise reports suggest its Actually Ok™. Once again, it’s value as a curiosity piece is what has me interested; we’re nearing the last cycles of new Wii and DS games, so the collector in me wants to secure the odds and ends to “complete” my library.

This entry was posted by Mawt.

Leave a Reply

